Layton Officials Honor Volunteers

Wednesday, 06 June 2012

By Antone Clark, Standard-Examiner correspondent 

City leaders set aside some time at a recent council meeting to honor a few special volunteers, including people who received the President’s Volunteer Service Award during the past year.
Volunteers from the city’s fire corps and from the police department were honored, along with members of Layton’s Neighborhood Network, which consists of 12 district coordinators and more than 80 area coordinators and 1,000 block captains.

Jim Mason, assistant city manager, stressed how important volunteers are to the city. He noted city volunteers gave 5,070 hours of service combined during the 2011 year.
A pair of volunteers earned the gold level award given to 2011 presidential service award recipients. Natalie Tholen donated 867 hours of service to the fire corps and Don Barebo donated more than 527 hours of service to the police department. Both received gold level service recognition.
Samuel Tholen donated 117 hours to the fire corps and was awarded the kids gold level award for service, during the same meeting.
Silver level awards were given to Mary Beth Friedrich for 438 hours of service to the police, Dawn Fitzpatrick for 294 hours of service to the Layton Citizen Corps Council and Michaela Larrabee, who gave 350 hours of service to the police. The Layton Citizen Corps was also honored with a silver level award as a group for its 606 hours of service.
Bronze level awards were given to Chris Burack and Nancy Dunkley, who donated several hours to the police department, while Tami Daich of the LCCC also earned the award.
Other award recipients for the evening included:

  • From the Layton Fire Corps: Diana Adams, Luke Adams, Russ Adams, Randy Benoit, Ann Bitton, Broe Bitton, Don Crockett, Cori Erickson, Voyle Farmer, Mary Beth Friedrich, Kami Holt, Tom Housely, Mike Larson, Nichole Larson, Robert May, Chad Pendleton, DelMar Stevens, Paulette Stuart, Bob Williams and Carl Wilcox.
  • From the Layton Neighborhood Network: Jim Barlow, Cindy Arquette, Jerry and Delois Stinson, Rich Humphreys, John Bale, Stuart Preece, Patrick McReaken, Mike Madsen, Malcolm Shannon, Tyler Cox, Gary Stephens, Jim Layton, Kirk Middaugh, Del & Becky Jensen and Steve Baxter.
PDF Print Email

New? Start here

Find out the benefits of starting a Fire Corps program for your department.

Program Information

Learn how you can market and grow your existing Fire Corps program successfully.

Volunteers Needed

Are you interested in volunteering at your local Fire Corps program?